Thank the Man with the Beard

Image

 

            Today is my wife and I’s 14th wedding anniversary.  These have been some of the best years of my life and still it is hard to put it all into words. Thank you Lord for my bride and the time we have had to create life memories.

            Here is the weird thing about the date of our anniversary. It is on February 12th, right before Valentine’s Day. We actually were married during that weekend and personally it helps me not to forget that day. (That would NEVER happen, right Dear?)

            However, it’s someone else’s birthday that I think I should mention. Mr. Abraham Lincoln was born on that date in 1809. I thought that I would give him a shout. That is because in a way he is somewhat responsible for freeing two more slaves from a horrible form of slavery.

            She and I both had previous marriages that obviously did not work out. In many ways we were tortured and abused, neglected and hurt in those past relationships.  We both were faithful even under duress. If that doesn’t fit the chains of slavery than nothing does.

            So, I want to smile and thank THE man with the beard for the other man with a beard. Jesus used Abe’s birthday as a reminder to me of what grace is meant to be. We did not deserve freedom but it was given to us. We both were free from the trappings of what the world called marriage and bound in Christ instead.  When He is in the center of a union that is what constitutes real freedom.

            So thank you, thank you, thank you , Lord for spiritual freedom and thank you Abe for physical freedom. Thank you Laura for making these few years very special. I hope we can keep building something special for many more years to come.

 

            Here are a few quotes from our sixteenth president.

 

            In giving freedom to the slave, we assure freedom to the free — honorable alike in what we give, and what we preserve. We shall nobly save, or meanly lose, the last best, hope of earth.
–December 1, 1862 Message to Congress

 

            Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.
–November 19, 1863 Gettysburg Address

 

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thank the Man with the Beard

  1. Kim says:

    Happy anniversary Gary and Laura!!

  2. gpavants says:

    What a blessing it is to have a spouse that shines in the ordinary and everyday.

  3. miria says:

    Gary….thank.you for sharing your heart. Remembering to be thankful for the things that God teaches us, the things He brings us through and the surprise glimpses of His mighty workings along the way are food to for thought. Thank u for sharing Him and your blessings with is.

    • gpavants says:

      Thank you Miria,
      Your timing was great. The Lord had me count my blessing today. His timing was of course perfect because He knew it was one of THOSE days. Thanks for sharing back. I pray you are all doing great. Enjoy time with friends and family.
      In Christ,
      Gary

Leave a Reply

