Internal, Eternal

 

                                       Image 

 

“Choosing rather to suffer affliction with the people of God than to enjoy the passing pleasures of sin.”

                                    Hebrews 11:25

One of my students is showing another his tattoo sleeve. It is very detailed and elaborate. What catches my eye is what is imprinted on his wrist. It’s a wristwatch.

I curiously ask, “What time is it?” He turns is over and I see the infinity symbol. That says a lot to me about his value of time.

This thought has been ticking away in my head this week: How do I use time to affect eternity? It’s more than just being a good time manager but how do I use up time for God’s kingdom. A friend once reminded me that time is something more precious than money because once it’s gone, it’s history. I have come to discover that guarding my time over my money has been a very good investment.

                                          Image

However, there is more to this idea. If the Lord turns the simple dust of earth into a living human being then things here matter for eternity. In eternity things are made to last. People and the relationships we have made become richer and deeper. Things are as God intended them to be. No breakdowns. No rust. Always blooming, never rot or decay.

What amazes me is how God uses this fragile temporal stuff of time and creates robust eternal things from it. He knows how to use a struggle in a life, to open eyes, to renew a heart, that sparks a faith, that ignites a soul ready for eternity. That’s the stuff of materials and materials that make lasting stuff. How great is the everlasting Creator?

With that in mind, remember that we have the Lord’s Holy Spirit working in us. We can give up things here if it means it counts on the other side. We are literally storing up real things in Heaven using stuff of Earth.

The verse in Hebrews was talking about Moses. He was looking not at what he could get out if this world but what God could do with his life. He suffered by laying down things that God could use to reach others. He was giving his time and energy for eternal building blocks. Does that make sense?

When we loose. We are building eternal patience. When we win we are learning how to defeat pride. We see the death of a loved one but something connects us now to eternity that much more. It’s like seeing a shifting piece-by-piece of our old life. While it looks like loss here it is coming to life in the land of eternity.  When you see that the Lord wastes nothing, it changes your thinking when He tells us no, or wait, or slow down. The Lord is crafting and He knows what tools and pieces we are meant to hand Him at the right time.

Please consider that slowing down in a busy world is a wise use of time. I hope to encourage folks to not be in a rush. Take the time to listen to others. Be a little more patient with the neighbor who likes to talk. Make time to sit with your grandma, even if it’s just holding her hand. These are pieces of eternity in their raw state.

I hope I haven’t wasted but, used your time wisely. Thanks for you patience. Sometimes it’s hard to get things worded just right. How have you found the Lord using your time to change the course of eternal things?

 

                                         Image 

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Internal, Eternal

  1. David Mata says:

    Thank you for your insightful comments. It did bring me to pause and reflect on how I am using my time and to focus more on using it wisely, especially for others. I like the idea that we are laying down things for eternity and we should reflect on that. I applaud your blog and thank you for your thoughts. God bless you.

    • gpavants says:

      Hi Dr. Mata,
      Thank you for your comments. I know you have had your battles but look how the Lord has turned it around. Amazing! I pray your faith continues to strengthen as you pass into a great new place.
      Thank you for keeping in touch.
      In Christ,
      Gary

  2. Kim says:

    I like especially the part about losing a loved one, I couldnt put that in words before but, you just did for me. When my son passed I couldn’t get enough of going to church where he used to go I had a new faith and was feeling connected to eternity where he is -Some would think you would grow angry at God but, that’s not what happens. Pretty amazing.

    • gpavants says:

      HI Kim,
      Crazy how the Lord doesn’t always change our circumstances but our perception, right? I think He is keeping jus enough of ourselves grounded here so we can be an influence for Him yet, He is moving us into that eternal place one day at a time. He has a timing and a process too. I have heard that is earth is sort of a life sentence then when we die, we are set free. Just a way to understand that death and loss is not a bad thing from God’s perspective.
      Love,
      Gary

  3. acromom says:

    It is so true, when we loose, we are gaining eternally…something we don’t understand until we have to go through it. I was never the same after losing my dad, got so much closer to God, then 8 yrs later lost my mom, which brought a lot of pain again. Now I have no earthly parents, only God to rely on. Also, slowing down to smell the roses and listen to others is very important. We must find that peace to just be content…a little tough in this hustle bustle lifestyle we lead. Good stuff Gary….deep and real!

    • gpavants says:

      Hi Kathy,
      Thank you for sharing. The Lord makes our heart more real when we see He is moving things where they will never be lost. My grandpa was a great guy but I never had time with him on earth. The biggest thing was that he found the Lord then we have eternity to spend together. There is great comfort when we battle here because we know how the Lord always turns it into lasting things.
      Have a blessed week. Thank you for sharing. Let me know when you get your blog going.
      In Christ,
      Gary

  4. Kelly says:

    Very true, Gary, and an important reminder for all of us. I will continue to use the gift of writing God has given me to bring others into a closer relationship with Him for as long as He gives me breath.

    • gpavants says:

      Hi Kelly,
      Amen to that. There is a great book called, Taking Men Alive. It talks about the value of reaching one person for the Lord. In the whole sceme of things consider that all your writing was so that one person came to Christ. Was it worth all the blood, sweat, and tears?
      I will pray your writing moves on and is Holy Spirit filled all the time. Oh, I sent a letter to the agent who has been taking so long. I had to write and give her a deadline. It’s hard when people push you aside for other things. I want to be a good witness but not get abused if I don’t have to be.
      In Christ,
      Gary

  5. trish mata says:

    Hi Gary,
    This is so beautiful. Thank you for the reminder that all we take into eternity is our relationships with one another and that time is never wasted when our intent is to love others as Christ has so beautifully and sacrificially loved us.

    • gpavants says:

      Hi Trish,
      Thanks for sharing. I like to call the Lord the Ultimate Recycler. He wastes nothing even the hairs on our head.
      I am even realizing why we need to sit, wait, and meditate upon the Lord in our days. He sees the mad rush and that time of contemplation keeps our souls from wearing thin.
      Take care.
      In Christ,
      Gary

Leave a Reply

