Broke but Richer

Image

“If only you will let me help you, if you will only obey, then I will make you rich!”

 

                                                                        Isaiah 1:19

 

I was about to recycle an old blog. I read through the story and realized that it’s been a year since my biking accident. Coincidently I just finished reading the book, The Shack and it seemed fitting to talk about this topic. Being broke.

The pastor said a few weeks ago that one of the few things that work better broken are people. This is not a happy topic because basically it’s not happy. No one wants to talk about losing, injuries, injustice, and pain. However, what if our perception of it was the problem not the brokenness itself?

In The Shack, Mac learns how God turns his “Great Sorrow” into his greatest joy. He loses something very precious but gains what makes everything in his life truly joyful. The beauty was that God used tragedy and loss to get into the real issues that caused the pain in the first place. The Lord uses hurt to heal. That is His nature. He uses the worst life can throw at us and brings real riches from it.

Maybe you are like me, I have a hard time enjoying the good times because I fear something bad is ready to crush my happiness. So, I half-smile, partially relax during those wonderful times, always watching the dark corners for something bad to spring out. How do you really even living life with an attitude like that? It’s like that fly in the ointment.

However, I think the book of James in the Bible nails it. He says rejoice when you suffer. See it as a way to grow your real life. These are chances for you to become a real person in the Lord. He puts sorrow and pain as wood for a fire. That fire is what refines a life into something more precious than gold. The troubles will pass but the result of life, love, and a person’s character last forever.  Fire burns up. Golden faith lasts as real riches.

If we can rejoice when trouble comes then what is going to bring us down? The sorrows are growth and the good times are picking and enjoying the fruit from that vibrant plant.  That’s how this temporal life gets turned into eternal life, or at least the first baby steps.

I challenge you to read through James and consider what God can do with pain and problems. I encourage you to choose the worst day of the week (maybe Monday) and look at it through different eyes. Share your struggles with the Lord and those who love Him. Let’s see how your story turns to glory.

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Broke but Richer

  1. gpavants says:

    Reblogged this on gpavants and commented:

    Today I am reminded that brokeness has healing hiding inside.

  2. gpavants says:

    Hello,
    Are you really feeling broken? How do you get fixed for the rest of your life?

  3. Gary – I appreciate the sincerity of your voice in your blogs. Your texts are well written and your messages are divinely inspired.

    • gpavants says:

      Hi Rebecca,
      Thank you for your help and your comments. It all come through. I also got my answer from the Lord.
      Have a blessed and productive week.

      In Christ,
      Gary

  4. Marcia Cloyd says:

    Well-said. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

