Seeing Eye God

Photo on 3-4-13 at 6.36 PM #2

“Of course,  only God can see everything and even the wisest man who says he knows everything, doesn’t”

                                        Ecclesiastes 8: 17 

My eyesight is 20/20 but I still have trouble seeing. It is not a case of eyesight as much as it is insight. I think I am good at reading people or seeing a situation for what it really appears however, the truth is I often misread things. That can be a real problem when you live alongside people and their struggles.

There was a TV show in the late 70s called Three’s Company. It was built on the whole premise of misunderstanding. I can see Jack Tripper hiding behind a chair, mouth  agape. Somehow he overhears a normal conversation between his roommates, Chrissy and Janet. However, from his perspective Jack slightly twists their dialog and now their innocent talk is ripe for controversy. We laugh at their misfortune but man, that happens all the time in real life and not just reel life.

This week I am listening for some really good advice to get some help for my insight.

(Hm, I wonder if the issue with me should be deemed as  “I” sight?) It’s a better view when I am not in the way. It has required me to really take time to stop, look, and listen. I am asking The Lord to help me really see things as they are and not through a distorted vision.

I think the frown on a friend’s face is because I have said something. The shrugged shoulder as I pass or the silent stare, I think is aimed at me. The truth is they are just having one of those days and I am just alongside for the ride. I am seeing things through a pair of dark-colored glasses.

So, that is why I have a guide now. I am relying on another, better set of eyes to point out the path before me. When my eyes get hazy and discolored I trust that my helper knows where we are going.  He sees not only how things really are but why the really are that way.

He removes scales from eyes. The black and white with washed away water colors are being refined. I see things in color now and it’s clarifying into better than HD quality.

Jesus slowly reveals a more panoramic view of life from His perspective. The things I saw from one direction, He walks me around to see it from the other side.

I have a seeing eye God. He hasn’t just opened my eyes but is helping me to see as He does. God has perfect vision. It is way better than 20/20 because it sees all of time and eternity together. He helps me navigate through life with all its possible ties. Some of the biggest things I could worry and imagine are put into perspective. Other things I think are insignificant and overlooked are highly treasured. That’s because The Lord shows me how it all is beautiful in His time and it all has a purpose.

When the Seeing Eye God is leading us we can see the world in a news light,

Our heart has eyes. Our faith has vision. The mind’s eye can become a field of dreams.

The whole of our being sees clearly and understand how life works because God is in the intricate details.

My prayer is that as the days get darker physically, the eyes of our spirit brighten until we see Him face-to-face. I pray your eyesight gains a grander perspective and the endless possibilities are in view down the road of life.

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seeing Eye God

  1. David Mata says:

    Beautiful insights Gary. And very beautifully said. I agree with you & do acknowledge that God desperately wants us to see the world through His eyes, even when it’s not so nice, but yet also see the wonderful plan of growth, times of peace, and times of enlightenment and discovery. He just wants us to seek Him, then allow Him to be our eyes, our guide, our vision, and our all. I’ve learned to trust Him even when it’s too dark to see, because He has proven faithful in other times, and He is the same today, yesterday, and tomorrow! He’ s more than we could ever imagine!
    “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love Him. ” I Cor. 2:9 (NIV)
    David Mata

    • gpavants says:

      HI Dr. Mata, Amen. I think of the armies that the Lord showed to Elisha, or Elijah. He wants us to trust by faith that there is far more going on than we can see yet. In Christ, Gary

      • David Mata says:

        Wow! I was just saying to my wife, Trish, last week, that I feel that God is sending “His armies”-now!- to fight against the wiles of the devil on our behalf, but also to bring His plan for our lives to victory and completion! We are NOT alone. Praise Jesus! Thank you for that confirmation.

Leave a Reply

