Release your Inner FPB!

 

“For you shall go out with joy,

And be lead by peace;

The mountains and the hills…

And the trees of the fields

Shall clap their hands.”

 

(If you know the tune to this verse,

SING it!)

 

            Isaiah 55: 12

 

Image 

 

BLAHHH!  BLAAAHHH! BLAAAH!

It’s the fire drill again!

Hordes of  high school students

Find their way

Reluctantly,

To the grassy field.

 

Class by Class,

In somewhat straight lines,

We wait for the all call:

“Teachers , students, and staff,

Trudge back, please

The way you came.”

 

As a ponder,

Weak and weary,

Down the line of

Everyday apparel

Of black, white, and gray

Something different

Catches my eye.

 

What do I spy but a pair

Of fuzzy pink boots,

(Yeah that’s what I thought too.

I had to do a double and a triple take.)

Image

Slightly lifted on one toe.

 

Doctor Seuss would

Most definitely approve,

Most nonsensically,

That the wearer of

 The FPB,

Has not forgotten

Her originality.

 

I wonder where

My pair has gone?

Are they stuffed under a bed

Or sold or gone?

Or in a chest;

Or just forgotten

With the rest,

Of all those creative things

That make up childhood

Wonders in

Sleeping or waking dreams?

 

Creativity can never die.

It’s just neglected

From the eye.

I see you’re looking at me

Rather strange,

Wondering,

When did the rhythm go,

And the rhyme scheme

Begin to change?

 

I think it’s the FPB

That’s got me thinking

Creative thoughts will always rise

There be no need of nasty pirates’

Sinking,

Those crazy ideas inside my head.

Without the dreamers

The world we think

Is alive

Would soon be

Stone cold dead.

Image 

When the world lines up,

Letting alarms cry danger,

And you stand up with a line

Of everyday strangers.

I dare you to stare

Down lines of

Black, white and gray,

And look for something

Most people need today.

 

I hope you are ready to

Really shake things free

With your one-of-a kind

Pair of

FPB!

 

 

Be original like the girl with the fuzzy pink boots.!

 

 Image

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Release your Inner FPB!

  1. Kim says:

    I like it! Too many of us want to fit in and be the same as everyone else!

  2. calforque says:

    This is just so true so many people are losing their sense of originality so It’s refreshing that there are people that can still appreciate the abnormal with such a positive out look then the normal negative one. Very very good (^^)

Leave a Reply

