My Momma Always Said…

 

Love of a Mother

 

“If you love someone you will be loyal to him no matter what the cost.”

                                                         1 Corinthians 13: 7

 

Mom

 

Momma always said treat others

The way you want to be treated.

Be a friend, a true companion

Love fully to the end,

Give generously again and again.

Oh, and don’t forget…

Always wear clean underwear

In case you are ever in an accident.

 

That is Mom for you. She is the embodiment of home. In her we see the fourth kind of love, brought to you in the original Greek, called storgy. When I think of that word, I wonder if that is where we get the image of the stork delivering the baby. That is how I connect the two.

 

Storgy is the word that most closely mirrors the highest expression of God’s unconditional love. Being in second to that is not too shabby. I think about what extents my own mom went to keeping house for six little kiddos. I often wondered how in the world we had three good meals a day when times were so tough. I found out years later, the reason Mom was so skinny was that she didn’t really eat. She made sure the growing children got fed.

 

If I asked you about the love your mother showed you I bet we have similar stories. I hope she made your house a home as well. I know that is why the war of love hits home. Our enemy knows how powerful home is and how it gives a foundation to build real life on. Moms and dads are the first glimpse that children have of God’s love on earth. So it’s no surprise that the family is one of the prime targets for those who loath God’s love.

 

Even though we have put mom up on a pedestal in this blog, she is one half of a unique team. Home needs dads too. While Mom makes a house a home, dads are the keepers of the gates and the defenders of the home. When both parents are on the same page and wear the same team uniform, by the grace of God, they are a force to be reckoned with.

 

Remember the body of Christ is a family too. The church is made up of families that are more that the sum of their parts. We need that storgy love to shine out in the dark times we are in. How can you guard your family in this war? What can you ask the Lord to do in order for your house to be a home where He can reside?

 

Mom & Dad

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

