Please

 

            She stands with her arm extended. In her palm is a Starbucks card of unknown value.

                            Image

            “Please, take it.”

            “No, I just wanted to help you move. You don’t need to give me anything for helping.

            “I wanted to say thank you.  I am a giver this is how I show my thanks.”

            The card is pressed into my hand.

            ‘No.”

            “Please.”

            “But.”

            “Please.”

            Have you ever had a hard time taking things from people? I know I have not taken gifts from people because I wanted to help them. Things were tight and I wanted to show them some kindness. That is the way good Christians do things, right? It is better to give then receive.

            However, other people around us want an opportunity to show kindness in return. Sometimes I have to be gracious enough to be on the receiving end. I know it sounds strange but there are many folks who refuse to take a gift, a word of praise, or even a compliment. We should know when to take from others. It goes both ways much like how a conversation isn’t just being a talking head. It takes two.

            Let people have their moments to show their appreciation. Give them a chance to  give or to serve. Each person has a way to show a language of love. Take a compliment and you don’t always feel you have to give one back. You can just say thank you and leave it at that.

 

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Please

  1. Kim says:

    That is so true Gary It’s hard sometimes to except gifts. We need to let others be blessed by giving!

Leave a Reply

