Brothers in Harms

 

“How good and pleasant it is when brothers live together in unity.”

                                     Psalm 133: 1

                            Thor and Loki

Our feature this week was The Avengers by Josh Whedon. We were asked to write about a hero or villain and discuss whether they fit the archetype of one or not. We were to also discuss a conflict that our character experienced during the movie. If my character, Loki, could talk to us in his own words, this is what he might say.

 

My name is Loki. You might know my brother, Thor. We are both of Asgard and not of Earth. You call him a hero and I me a villain. However, I think these titles are wrong. It is just he and I and we do not agree. I love my brother but he does not understand what it takes to be a king. I do. He gave up his right to rule in order to care for the people of Earth. While he is guided by sentiment, I am burdened with glorious purpose. I am king and I will do whatever it takes to do my duty. Freedom, to me, has been abused. Look what man has done to ruin himself with it. I will show humans that they need some help and I will be the one to show them how to really live. You call me a villain? I think you need to look at it from my perspective.

 

I do agree that this conflict has been a family issue. I would have been happy to work things out with my brother and not involve the people of Earth. He just doesn’t listen to simple reason. The tessaract should have never come to Earth. If we immortals could not control it, how can these lowly creatures. I know what it can do in the wrong hands. Shield and the Avengers, Earth’s Mightiest heroes, don’t know a fraction of what that energy source can do. I do. Let me have it back. If not, then  there will be war. Return what is mine and we can take our family issues back home.

 

Loki does fit the villain archetype. He does not see himself as a bad guy. Everyone else is off base but he knows what is best for those he is abusing, even his own brother. Many great battles and conflicts happen within families. Like WW1 and WW2, there were conflicts between cousins and brothers. Sadly, it got so big that soon the world was involved. We still have these issues today with gangs, broken homes, and unhappy people. Unresolved conflicts have drawn in neighbors, communities, and entire countries, causing society to shake apart. How pleasant it is when brothers live in peace.  I guess it’s true that happiness begins at home.

                                            thor_vs_loki_color_by_riccardo_fasoli-d4pmvty

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

