You Can’t Rush a Miracle…or You Get a Lousy Miracle.

Miracle Max

“I, Wisdom, will make the hours of your day profitable and the years of your life more fruitful.”

                                    Proverbs 9:11

Let me set the scene. Two men have brought a companion to see the doctor. Their friend, the man in black, for all accounts and purposes is dead. However, these two men have come to inquire about a miracle. They aren’t taking defeat that easily.

The old man, who is dubbed Miracle Max, notices the two men’s impatience. He tells the men not to rush a miracle; otherwise you get a lousy miracle.

This classic scene from the movie, The Princess Bride, makes me chuckle and makes me ponder the working of miracles. As Forest Gump reminds us, “Miracles happen everyday.”

I know I’m guilty of trying to help God fix a situation. Instead of looking at the purpose of the problem, I look for the quickest way out. I think I’m missing the point. Maybe God is trying to mature me through a trial or tribulation.

I believe that God is doing a miracle through our suffering. We America Christians have gotten comfortable. I feel we have forgotten that people grow and are refined in the fire of life. I know I breathe a sigh of relief when the rains come and the steam rises from the inferno. It’s easier to embrace the green grass, the gentle streams, and the rolling hills then the burning field, the floods, and the mountains looming before us.

I have said this again and again that we prayed for a revival in American and we are experiencing it now. We had it all, but had nothing. The Lord hit our gods of money, comfort, health, etc. Many of US are seeing that we need the Lord not in name only. Life is a mess and we are not immune to it. I do not mean it’s hopeless. But real hope exists no matter what the circumstances tell us.

Miracle man

Wait. Don’t certain seeds germinate because of fire? Can’t storms clear the smoggy air and cluttered ground? Aren’t mountains there to change our perspective of the lowlands? Yes, it’s all too easy to take the simple way, but what happens when we embrace challenges?

You need a miracle in your current situation? I pray that you see the real miracle worker already on it. He is using everything in your life to bring the best out of you. Think about being able to stand up when life would have knocked you down. Consider being patient, kind, and understanding in the face of someone who wants to take you out. What would you call a person who has changed from being a surface, plastic fake to a person of character, perseverance, and joy. Those look like miracles to me.

Wesley

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

