When Facelook Replaces Facebook

Face to Face

“For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face.”

 

                                                      I Corinthians 13:12

A few years ago my friend, Chris shared Facebook with me. I was hooked. There were people that I hadn’t seen or talked to in years. The best way I could describe it was like being in Heaven. This is what I think it will be like when we are all together again for eternity. What a great tool to keep in touch with others.

Then reality set in. I wasn’t able to keep in contact with all my two hundred and some-odd friends on a regular basis. I tried to comment on their lives, but that soon became a daunting task. I have since learned how to send things to groups, or do a sort of newsletter that I could send out as needed. The point is that I had many friends, but not really.

I see Facebook now as a starting point. The idea is to work up to talking on the phone, and the final goal would see them face-to-face. With the busyness of life on both sides of the computer screen, that seems more and more difficult to achieve. Having a real friend is a lot of work. Maybe that is why we truly only have a few of them.

Face to Face 2

I want to share with you a video poem that I thought was very fitting for our times. It is so true and so scary. This is what I worry about happening to the relationships around me. Am I replacing virtual relationships for everyday real ones? Can you see what this means for people being social creatures as God created us? If not handled correctly social media does the complete opposite of what it’s name implies. It can isolate and dehumanize.

http://therebelution.com/blog/2015/01/look-up-from-your-phone/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+rebelution+%28The+Rebelution%29

Okay, before you despair I want to share with you my prayer for the future. I believe that people will see the emptiness of virtual relationships. I pray that people will feel the emptiness of isolation and seek out real people instead. That longing will lead them to a closer relationship with the Lord. We may not have as many friends as we once did digitally, however, we will have real flesh and blood ties again.

Face to face scream

Yes, it takes more work. No, you won’t be close to everyone. Yes, you will have issues with people because that’s what real relationships have. No, it won’t be easy, convenient, or predictable. Yes, they will hurt you. No, it’s not bad. It’s part of growing. Yes, it’s what real humans do. No, kidding.

I hope that you discover the Facelook platform and see the people in your life more often and face-to-face. Open up Facebook and see whom you can truly make a friend with today. That reminds me, my college buddy, Greg needs to talk. I am going to practice what I preach.

Brothers

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

