Always Bring a Butterfly Net (A tribute to a spring of new ideas)

Butterfly resting

In a world of busy things,

Of cars, and flying thing with wings,

Stress and business, words that sing,

Things get lost that once were dreams.

Butterly net 6

How do you capture these allusive thoughts,

Keep the good ones,

Bad ones toss?

Will they hover for one moment,

And then are lost?

Butterfly face

Inspiration hits like thunder

Then they busy brain can blunder

Where did idea go in wordless wonder?

Butterfy let 3

Always carry that butterfly net

To catch ideas that flutter,

Yet,

Before their fire sets.

And by the wind freedom has let.

Them loose.

Butterfly in the hand blue

Your net might be made

Of paper and pen

Stuffed in a pocket,

Ready at a whim.

A cell phone for notes,

A voice recorder raised to your chin.

Butterfly in the hand

Be on the hunt and capture those flybys

Don’t let them go

Don’t let them die.

Maybe it means a simpler life

That doesn’t bottle-neck the brain

In a time of great anxiety and strife.

(I deal with this daily, just ask my wife.)

Buttfly in the hand

More than ever we need those wings,

Those inspired paintings,

Those songs, those dreams.

What kind of world would it be.

If people didn’t dream beyond what their eyes can see?

It would be dead, boring, and minus

Inspirationality.

(Um, well my net catches new words and I display them in stories for the world to see, you see?)

Butterfly hunt

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in beating stress, creativity, memory, productivity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Always Bring a Butterfly Net (A tribute to a spring of new ideas)

  1. I long to rediscover my youthful dreams. great post

  2. Thank you for the follow! I am flattered that you like what I write enough to follow me and I’m pleased for the connection so that I can get to know you through your blog.

Leave a Reply

