Do Your Best on the Test and Throw Away the Rest.

miyagi2

“Blessed is the man who endures temptation; for when he has been approved, he will receive the crown of life which the Lord has promised to those who love him.”

                                    James 1:12

 

Life is a test. We need to be the best at whatever we are asked to do. The best father, brother, worker, and Christian. It’s our life and that is how we can honor the Lord with His Spirit. What comes with that idea is that we try to have a hand in everything and excel at multiple points.

Yet, we can’t. We all have limitations, whether with age, time, job, etc. It’s choosing those things we need to do well and then letting go of the extra that keeps us from doing just that. That’s not easy in the go-go, get it all, be number one society we live in. It’s easier to hold on to things then let them go.

I am looking at a piece of paper that has my current life written on it. Feeling a little wiped out at the end of each day, each week, I needed to do some evaluation of what I am doing with my time and energy. It opened my eyes to how over busy I have become, again.

It’s time to look at what is on the plate and decide what needs to be removed. It’s either that or face a little burn out. I really don’t want to smell like smoking embers again. Been there, done that.

I rode my bike today. Now, that is actually one of the things on my plate. I would love to be able to ride with other people. It is a great way to build relationships while exercising your body. It may not seem like a complicated thing, but trying to get on a regular program with others has been challenging. Some of my friends want to train for races, while others just want to tootle and tour. I am stuck somewhere in the middle trying to please both groups.

That is one of the things that had to change on my overflowing platter. Somethings have to go, other things have to be tapered back. The things that hurt the most are the relationships attached to certain activities. How does a people person justify that loss?

So, I am looking at that piece of paper again. Am I doing this much in my life? Granted the job I have is the biggest contributor to my stress load. Some things I have to say no to, so others I can say yes to. I have to be willing to let go of things and trust other people will pick up the load.

Back to the bike for a minute. It seems lately that the Lord has had me ride alone. Really, I am not alone because He speaks to me. Maybe that is what it took for me to listen to Him, really listen, when He took those other friends away. The Lord wants me to have friends, I just can’t be so stretched thin that I am a shadow of what a real friend should be.

I am giving up trying to train for a race. I am giving up trying to please every group and take whatever the next ride brings. If plans work out to ride with others, great. If not, I think the Lord needs His time to speak to me. I can’t see what is down the road, but I have to trust he does. If I force my way then there is going to be an accident I could have prevented.

How full is your plate? Are you worn out and tired from doing too many good things? How can you streamline and be able to be more effective when life tests you? I challenge you to make a list, laid it before the Lord, and see how He wants you to take on the next season in your life.

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

