Save Us!

Save-me-O-God-hand-christian-wallpaper-hd_1366x768

“But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, even the deep things of God.”

                                             1 Corinthians 2:10

I often wonder how God has designed history and time. There are so many unfair and chaotic things that are allowed to happen. It is so corrupted that many people’s faith fail and they question whether there is even a God. If He is there, they surmise, He has no control or even cares about his creation. Sadly, I am seeing things get worse and more people putting the blame on their seemingly aloof creator.

Jesus saw the fickleness of man first hand. He lived among people whose loyalties changed in a moment. How much trust did He have in man at those times ? I wonder.

Remember Palm Sunday? This was the week before Jesus was crucified. The crowds went nuts when they saw him riding in to Jerusalem. The cried out, “Hosanna” and welcomed Jesus as one would a conquering king. That word meant, save us. The whole city was in an uproar and turned upside down. The religious rulers worried that the whole world was going to come to Him.

Why didn’t God use that “high point” to present the plan of salvation? Why didn’t He use this unique moment, when it seemed everyone’s hearts were ready, to save their souls? That would seem the most opportune time by human standards, but not God’s.

Maybe He knew that below the surface, there was a fallen nature that had to be exposed. He knew that men’s word and their true character do not always match up. God had to open up the truth before they could truly be set free.

Just a week later, Jesus was betrayed. He was betrayed by a disciple that no one expected would ever turn. Judas’ heart was exposed and his true nature came out. The crowds that once praised Jesus together now screamed. “Crucify him! Crucify him!” The whole world, it seemed was in an uproar. Everyone came to him, but this time their true natures were revealed.

The truth had come out. Sin was exposed and the depth of its curse was laid bare. None of them deserved to call upon Him to save them? The whole world had turned upside down. The guilty were running free, while the innocent one was killed in their place. That is just madness on display.

I realized at one point in my life that I couldn’t be all that God wanted me to be. I thought I was a good church boy, doing all the things a good Christian should. But when the test came, it wasn’t enough. Upstate NY was my testing ground more than twenty years ago. It was then I realized what a sinner I was. It broke up my whole view of Christianity. I was angry, sorrowful, lost, and confused.

It was at my lowest point that I saw what God saw all along. I couldn’t ask Jesus to save me, until I realized what He was saving me from. The wretched man inside needed the perfect man to live within me. When I truly gave up and said, “I surrender,” that is when I found the Lord saying. “Now you got it.”

The crowds got their wishes. Jesus was crucified. The sky turned black, the world of sinful man was changed forever when He cried, “It is finished.” Little did they know that even through they said “Crucify”, with their lips, their spirits were still saying, “Save us.”

When the dust cleared and the truth came out, the ground was leveled. Those who trusted in Jesus as their salvation found it. Those who trusted in themselves, well…I guess the truth came out in the end.

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in help in time of need, helping the lonely, save from sin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

