Give it 90%

“Hear, O Lord and have mercy on me; Lord be my helper.”

                                            Psalm 30:10

Charlie Brown

I have heard that if all the church buildings in the world were full, they still could not hold 90% of the people in the world. That is daunting. How can that be? Does that mean that once every seat us filled, we close the doors and carry on with business as usual?

That is when I kick myself and remember that the church is not the building. Duh. Where we are limited in the physical sense doesn’t equate with the spiritual world. We have to think outside of the four walls that we often find ourselves in., Yes, thinking outside of the box and getting into areas that are wild and maybe never explored. That is where the people are, outside of the bubbles we can easily find ourselves inside.

So, has God called you to do something not expected? Has He put something creative and unorthodox on your plate? He knows that the times we live in are getting weirder and unpredictable. People are turning their back on traditions. Many are bored or unsatisfied with the church. What happens Monday through Saturday is often beyond that sanctuary door.

Recently a friend of mine and I talked about something that God had put on both of our hearts: a ministry to nerds. We have a love for sci-fi, fantasy, superheroes, etc. So do a lot of people out there. It’s a language we can speak while by God’s grace bring in the truth as well. I am not into sports, or working on cars, but I can use the nerdian in me to the Glory of God and the building up of others. Things aren’t in place, but we are talking about calling it “God Among Geeks”. Only God knows where it will go so we are just along for the ride.

I want to challenge to pray about what wild idea God can use? I can tell you that Jesus doesn’t have to recycle ideas like Hollywood does with remakes. He is the creator of eternally new things. I can assure you that if you work with Him something just suited for you will help you reach that 90% crowd in some new wonderful way. Share your idea and I will pray for you.

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

