One Day

IMG_3893

December 11,2015 will be a day I will never forget. I saw miracles that day: The sick were made well, the blind men saw, life came from death, and the truth came out.

My Grandma Kay lived to be 103! She was a woman of prayer and everyone in our family knew it. For three years she was on the Hospice watch list. So, she was ready to meet the Lord and we all prayed Grandma would go peacefully in her sleep.

My Aunt wanted her passing to be a celebration. She had a lot of time to prepare all the details. So, when the day arrived and Grandpa passed in her sleep on Thanksgiving night, it all came together.

Now, I am sure unlike my family, your family all gets along and lives at peace with one another. We had folks from my Mom’s generation who have struggled with other for decades. Others in my generation have been at odds for the past couple of years which have made current family gatherings uncertainly uncomfortable. I had to speak to the crowd and deliver the eulogy. So there was all sorts of tension on the air.

But God was already at work answering prayers that Grandma had asked for.

A simple Facebook message was sent at the right time and cleared up one of the previous family issues. Eyes were opened and so were hearts. I saw forgiveness between two angry groups and what a breath of refreshment went through the rest of that day.

I was amazed at how people spoke up, joy was expressed at the church and at the gravesite. Instead of wailing and sadness, there was life and happiness. There was cause for remembering the good memories and not anguishing over guilt or discouragements from the past.

I have never seen a service where people interacted with the preacher delivering the message in such a natural warm way. It truly focused on the happy memories. More people spoke and shared their hearts. I think a lot of things were said the began the healing process our family needed.

Afterwards we gathered and spent time together at my Aunt’s home. I watched forgiveness in action and restoration happen in a few simple steps.  I just remember such a feeling of wholeness and openness of my heart. I pray that was God’s Spirit keeps on pulling our family together as life wants to pull us apart. It is going to take more than mere words. It will take some action.

It’s it wild what one day can do it we give it a chance?

IMG_3618

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Day

  1. David Mata, MD says:

    Beautiful story of restoration, redemption, and a true miracle. Christmas is about miracles isn’t it?
    Thank you for sharing. God bless, and Merry, Blessed Christmas!

  2. dennis@gartung.me says:

    That was beautiful Gary!

    Please update my email address in your Address Book/Contacts to dennis@gartung.me

    Pastor Dennis Gartung

    Payson and Mendon Congregational UCC

    dennis@gartung.me

    217-617-6785

  3. mshuizar says:

    What a beautiful gift Your Aunt left with her passing. She must have been very special & loved 😍

Leave a Reply

