The Story of Henry & Edward

maxresdefault

“Be sober and vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion seeking whom he may devour.”

 

                                                      1 Peter 5:8

Last Sunday night I was treated to a fantastic musical performance of the classic story, Jekyll & Hyde. What made it even more special were the actors that again brought fictional characters to life.

Paul and Cheri Kehler portrayed the   characters of Henry Jekyll/Edward Hyde and Lucy. What captured my attention was way the duality of man is portrayed. Dr. Henry Jekyll and Edward Hyde are one man who shows the battle of good and evil in us all. At a crucial point we see the real battle come out in a song. Paul had to sing back-and-forth switching characters and voices in a fury.

C.S. Lewis spoke about the flesh and the spirit, good and evil we all struggle with daily. This is the sinful nature we naturally inherit fighting against a new nature, when we find the Lord, that is complete opposition. There is no love between these two forces. And we wonder why at times we are riding that fine line of sanity in a bi-polar world?

As time goes by and history plays out I really feel like we are having to choose sides. When I want to do good, as Paul wrote, the sin in me rears its ugly head. I pray it is like poison being drawn from a wound when God’s Spirit is allowed to search our inner being from the inside out. It’s terrible to see what rotten things were hiding in the deep places of my heart. However, they are no longer a residence, but their appearance is because they have been given an eviction notice from the new owner of this house I call my heart.

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in human nature, save from sin, sin, spiritual strength, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

