4th, but Really 1st.

It is the 4th of July. I am looking at THE Statue of Liberty as I am writing this. What a site even from the bottom. I am thankful to be in NY today. 

To be honest, it is sort of ironic to be in this spot with my attitude towards the state of our country. I was very patriotic for years and always excited about the future. However, it has been so easy to just get by when things look like they are going downhill really fast. “Why bother,” some would say, “we are on a fast track to chaos, and what can we do to stop the inevitable?” I admit that I listened, watched, and thought that those voices were right. 

Then, I began to get convicted. I think the Lord reminded me that nothing is impossible when He is allowed to work. My eyes were opened up to see the US not so much as a failing political and economic system, but as people who need to remember who they are and why they are know as “One nation under God.”

So, I have a few Bible verses that the Lord has been encouraging me to remember. With them I know how to first pray so He has opened doors to hearts. Then, I pray He will open the doors for me to do whatever comes next. Who’s lives do I speak into, walk alongside, or give a listening ear. 

So, hey, maybe you want to join me to pray for our country and for great things to still happen from sea to shining sea. While I was at the Statue of Liberty I bought a keychain. I want to see it everyday and remember why I am asking God to work in the hearts of US.!

These are some verses that I have found to remind me about details as I pray. 

2 Chrononicles 7:14

If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

(These are God’s people walking right as they should be. This is like preaching to the choir.)

Phil 1:6

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. 

(Hang in there when plans discourage you.)

Phil 1:10

So that you may approve what is excellent, and so be pure and blameless for the day of Christ.

(May you know how to live right and teach others right and wrong.)

Phil1:21

For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

(This puts the troubles  of this life into perspective.) 

Phil1:27

Only let your manner of life be worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or am absent, I may hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving side by side for the faith of the gospel. 

(Amen) 

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Biblical People, Faith, help in time of need, hope, Persistance, Prayer, responsibility, The United States of America, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

