Annie, Get Your Bone

(Here is a flashback piece that brings a tear to my eye. Annie is gone now, but not forgotten. This little tidbit in memory of her.)

 

Annie

“Two are better than one.” Ecclesiastes 4:9

 

Having a pet is similar to having a child. I remember Steve Irwin, the Crocodile Hunter reminding us that animals need food, love, and attention. So, if we have a pet it is a commitment that requires a part of ourselves.

Meet Annie. Annie is a little dog I got from school. We thought she was a baby Chihuahua. We are small dog people and she was pretty tiny. Everyone in the family fell in love with Annie: Big eyes, big ears and tiny little feet.

Then she grew up.

Annie was really a mix of four different doggies and she turned out she was very one of a kind. Unfortunately, when the cute puppy stage wore off, Annie lost a lot of attention from the family. When we went to work, she spent a lot of time alone, being the only dog in the house. The two cats had somebody; even the rats had a friend to play with but, not Annie.

We all need a friend. God made us this way. I’m sure that works with animals too. They need companionship when their people family isn’t around.

I try to be the one in family that monitors the pet population in our home. The reality is that the kids get a pet, loose the intensiveness and who ends up taking care of the pets? That would be me.

When my daughter, the animal lover, came along and she wanted another pet. We started her with a kitten. My daughter did a good job and I found that I had help with the pets.

So, that’s how we got Shelby. She is a Cairn Terrier who likes exactly like Toto from the Wizard of Oz. Something amazing happened to Annie who had become very complacent. I forgot to tell you that part.

They became fast friends. They both loved to run, tackle, chase, and play. Annie got her second wind. She seemed happier, healthier, and definitely not so lonely.

Yes, I am reminded that God gives us companionship to bring out the best in us. We go through good and bad times, playful moments, and serious dialogs, all because I called someone friend. There are times to be alone but, a lifetime of it is not what we were meant for.

I am thankful for my friends. I pray that it’s a mutual thing that brings out the best in all of us. Thanks, Annie for letting me talk about your story. It has helped me to be reminded why we are richer in life when we have companions.

 

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Annie, Get Your Bone

  1. What a beautiful tribute! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

