Can I Give you a Leg up! 

 

walking

Did you know that your immune system is really found in your legs? Staying active and keeping your legs moving can help to boost your immune system.

I run, bike, and hike, but nothing crazy, just to get outside and keep things moving. I have been fairly active most of my life, however I hit 50ish and things changed. I am a technology teacher and a writer. Both of this positions, position me is a seat and easily keep me from doing what I love to do. There have been stresses that have thrown off my sleep, a few more aches and pains popping up.

With the rise of more stationary desk jobs more people battle with carting extra weight. They say that a sedimentary habit such as sitting at a desk, really affects us just like smoking. There are some easy ways to get moving and see a real change in your health.

If you do have a job that requires you sit get up every hour and do something on your feet for five minutes. This breaks up that inaction and keeps things flowing.

Walk outside. Start small and build up to jogging. If that is tough on the joints, try biking. That is one of the best exercises because it has super long term cardio benefits and low impact on those joints.

If you have access to a pool, man you are so lucky. Swimming works everything and you can do this your whole life. Skate. Dance, anything you like that gets you up and moving 3-4 times a week.

You may or not be into taking care of yourself physically, but think about this benefit. We all have a job to do when serving the Lord and others. Why not do what you can to work smarter not harder? It is like sharpening your tools before you use them. Your spiritual health and the state of your soul with God are most important, but don’t ignore the body it has to live in.

I hope your two legs take you places this year that will set you on a path to better overall health.

 

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Biblical People, Exercise, family, Fitness, Health, Spiritual fitness, Uncategorized, Walking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

