Here, There, Anywhere

waiting

“If they obey and serve me, they will spend the rest of their days in prosperity and their years in contentment.’

Job 36: 11

I am slowly learning to appreciate the moments in life. I was always guilty of being somewhere else when I should have been content with being right here, right now.

When I wished I was with a group of people, nobody came around. When I wanted to be alone and have it quiet, that’s when the phone rings and everyone comes knocking on my door. Doesn’t that sound crazy? But it’s true.

waiting-too

Things don’t always turn out the way we expect them to. Something needs to change. As usual it means I need to change. That’s what I found that God is after.

He wants me to have the same attitude as His Son, because in Christ I am. Most of the miracles Jesus did, or the interactions He had, didn’t fit into His schedule. They came as He was on His way somewhere else. There were times He was resting and people came flooding around.

He surrendered His will to God and let Him fill out His schedule. Jesus was never in a rush, was often interrupted yet, accomplished all the Lord set out for Him to do. Though He may not have always known why, He knew God had a purpose with all the inconveniences.

Purchase this image at http://www.stocksy.com/50871

Even now, I am waiting on my wife. She has company that probably needs to talk. I am watching her son after a long day at work. I want to get to my writing, have a nice quiet dinner with my family, and get some down time. It’s probably not going to happen that way. I wish they would go home but, God knows what He’s doing. I don’t want to spoil something that God has cooking. Again, it’s my attitude that needs to change.

I need to be content here, there, or anywhere the Lord puts me. I can’t always control my circumstance but, I can control my behavior, my response to it. I am going to go now and have a quiet dinner to myself. I will talk to you later and tell you how things are going.

kids-lined-up

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Biblical People, Growing in the Lord, patience, people, timing, Uncategorized, Waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

