Outfoxing the Foxes

Foxes

By G.P.Avants

Catch for us the little foxes, the little foxes that ruin the vineyards.”

                                                Song of Songs 2:15

Sure they look cute and harmless. That’s what they want you to think as they eat you out of house and home. Little things that are sly, quiet, and in the long run totally destructive. Those foxes!

In the Song of Songs, Solomon gave a lot of descriptions of life. He compared the loving relationship to the unconditional loving relationship God wants to have with us. The Lover (who is the Lord) tells his Beloved (us) to catch the little foxes that ruin his garden. The way the Lover describes the garden is like the most cherish, peaceful, and intimate places God wants to share with us.

baby foxes

Those foxes are small yet, they do their damage and things don’t grow the way they should or not at all. Little things? Can these be worries? Maybe its things in my life that I keep secretly in a closet that I think aren’t that dangerous. Is it maybe a slothful part of my life that I slip into time and time again? Bad habits? Inconsistency?

Sweet-foxes

If they are so small why is God so concerned about them? One reason might be is that they slip under the radar and systematically work on bigger things. They can be a button that when pushed, sets me off and undoes so many other good things. Isn’t Solomon the same guy who wrote about a fly can ruin the ointment?

I get irked by my son not emptying the dishwasher. I get irritated by him sitting on the computer and not getting up and doing it. I let it eat at me and I lose my cool. It turns into a fight and ruins my witness to him. If I don’t let it go it can hurt others in my household, neighborhood, and community. How’s my garden after that fox does his damage?

Fox

Show me how to catch those little foxes. Lord, I pray for wisdom to let you remove those irkings. Thank you for letting those obsessions go! I want to be able to keep my relationships green and fox-free. May you find things growing that you planted, Lord, and be happy with what you see.

1431309-bigthumbnail

 

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in avoiding temptation, Change, foxes, God, Jesus, save from sin, Spiritual fitness, spiritual strength, temptation, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

