Yoke


hand-to-the-plow

By G. P. Avants

“For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Matthew 11: 30

 

 

Got it.

The work ahead

Is plan to see.

“If it’s meant to be,

It’s up to me.”

(That’s what they tell me.)

The Plow

I grab the plow,

My back I bow,

Flex and bent

All day

From beginning to end.

Yet when I view

The fruit of my labor,

My field looks no different

Then the unworked one

Of my neighbor.

Not a dent did I make

From the sweat of my brow

Yet tomorrow’s the same

Though I know this will grow.

 

hard-work-plowing-rich-collins

This isn’t a one-man job.

No, in fact it’s one made

For man and his God.

Pulling together

Not grasping at odds.

That silly idea

Doesn’t sound so bad

Right now.

So, I take Him

At His word.

 

MDG : Seed : Plowing a field and sowing seeds in Ethiopia

Pull and strain,

Sun or rain,

Alongside the Lord.

A heavy load

Looking behind,

When all is done;

The field is plowed

The work of God

Is done.

Man in wheat field

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in christ, companionship, discipleship, endurance, Growing in the Lord, healthy, Holy Spirit, Jesus, labor in the Lord, Passion, patience, Peaceful, perseverance, renewal, rest, Soil, Strength in crisis, togetherness, Uncategorized, wisdom, work, yoke. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

