Mi Casa es Su Casa

Welcome

“If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him and will come to him and make our home with him.”

John 14: 23

Mi casa is su casa-my house is your house. Have you ever had anyone tell you that before? That’s a generous offer. You’re basically making yourself at home at somebody else’s expense.

Welcome to my home

Is that how I treat the Lord in my home? Does He have full access to my home? It all starts off good. We start off like friends who stay a few days. We do things out of the ordinary and maybe have some special meals, play some games, watch movies. Then the week turns into weeks, then months.

Clean the house

When you have a long-term guest things do change, don’t they? Are they still a guest after a certain amount of time? Do I start asking them to do jobs and pull their own load a lot more? Yeah, I think their status as guest does change but, to what?

Bad day

Will the charming host wear off when God stays long term? Will He feel at home even on those days when I come home bearing a stress load from work? Dinner is late again and we are eating leftovers. These are realities of life in our home. Will He still feel welcomes in mi casa?

Our home

I wake up one morning, unshaven, and in my pajamas. There He is waiting for me so we can talk. We’ve gotten into a good routine but, I feel like I am just going through the motions. We have a great time conversing and eating breakfast. I always feel ready for my day after we have spent time together.

guest_info

However, He notices that there is tiredness behind my plastic smile.

”Tired?”

“Uh-huh, sorry.”

“There’s no need to be sorry. Thank you for opening your home, your life to me.” Then he grins.

“What?”

“I can’t wait until it’s my turn.”

Friends

I know where He is going with this but, I still play the game. “For what?”

“To bring you back to stay with me.”

“On vacation?”

“No, Son, to your real home.”

“Right, yes, that’s right.”

“Don’t forget,” Jesus hugs me, “Mi casa…”

‘
”…es su casa.”

New home someday

 

 

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Christian living, companionship, Eternal home, family, friendship, God, God's Kingdom, Home, Jesus, Mi Casa es su casa, relationships, Uncategorized, Welcome. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

