Loving the Enemy 

the-mummy-returns-2001-22

 

By G.P. Avants

 

I am watching a scene from the Mummy 2, that really has tugged at my heart and mind. Rick O’Connell and the Mummy, Imhotop are both clinging for life on the edge of a pit of souls. Rick’s love, Evelyn reaches for him and pulls him to safety.  The Mummy looks to his woman, Anck Su to save him. They lock eyes for a moment, but in fear she runs to save her own life. The look in his eyes told you that this woman, whom he had risked everything for, didn’t return his love. To this day I don’t if Imhotop lost his grip or his heart broke causing his to be pulled down by the hands of the dead.

 

 

It was the look in his eyes that really got to me. The bad guy in the end was lost forever. He finally saw the truth in the end but by that time, it was too late.

Te Mummy

I think when we are faced with our struggles of right and wrong, we see the enemy differently. Maybe seeing that if someone showed them the love and grace you have been shown, maybe they will turn back from the dark side?

 

The Mummy Patience

As a writer, I use examples like these to give my character’s depth and character. I love to see the enemy get a chance to be redeem themselves and maybe even makes steps to undo the damage they caused. What’s great about this is how the protagonist’s life changes as well. Their hearts have to move and deepen, by seeing their antagonist change before their lives.

the-mummy-returns-movie-screencaps.com-14011

Though these are fictional stories isn’t this how real life really works if God is allowed the be part of the story? When we learn I actually feel compassion for those who hate us, I feel like we are closer to understanding the love of Jesus firsthand.

 

 

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Being a Hero, christ, Christian living, companionship, Compassion, dark side, Emotions, Faith, Fictional Stories, Fishers of Men, love, Loving your enemies, marriage, people, relationships, Risk-taking, sorrow, The Mummy Returns, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Loving the Enemy 

  1. “Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you. Do good to those who hate you.” The words are so simple! But it is sooo hard to truly learn and live. Yet in that understanding of empathy, compassion, and unconditional love we see the road to the Kingdom. I spend a lot of time praying about this and wrestling with trying to do better with this in my own life. Wonderful post! Maybe this is God’s way of saying I should be praying about this more today too :).

    • gpavants says:

      You know how the Lord works: He will bring “enemies” into our lives to show Jesus to. My wife’s ex was my first real in your face enemy. Not easy, but He showed me to listen, hold my tongue, and when I did speak it was kindness. Today things are better. He will show you what to do even if it’s little stuff.

      • I think that’s such a huge part of it, letting God guide us through those messy transitions from enemy to friend. We can be hesitant to let God take over or show us the way, often trusting in our own ideas. But that transformation can happen! It’s part of what we’re here to do. We have to be willing to let God help us get there.

        I’m glad your situation has settled into an easier, more tolerable one too. “Not easy but…things are better” is a great way to sum up what it’s like when we let God lead.

Leave a Reply

