All of My Days

G. P. Avants

 

Together

“One man considers one day more sacred than another another man considers every day alike.”

                                    Romans 14:5

“Therefore we do not lose heart.  Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.”

                                    2 Corinthians 4:16

                                  Tough People

Monday: Believe it of not its not a typical Monday.  Its been really great! The kids are well behaved, I got a good night sleep, and I had a wonderful quiet time with the Lord.

Tuesday: A pretty good day.  Got a late start but made it to work on time.   The boys had a rough night but we patched things up.

Wednesday: Ach! How things can go from bad to worst is just not funny.  Its one of those days when I should have stayed in bed, unpluggled the phone and bolted the door.

Thursday: I woke up happy today.  Had a good quiet time with the Lord.  The sun is shining….

Wishes

Does this sound familiar at all? It seems our weeks are never predictable.  Its like a huge rolling wave at times; one minute I’m rolling on the crest the next I’ve been face-planted in the sand.Our lives appear to be at the mercy of our circumstances and in the world we live in. But is doesn’t have to be that way. I believe that each day has a purpose and even the horrible days are part of God’s plan. I know we have heard this before again and again that, “all things work together for good for those who love God and are called according to His purpose.”

good-day1

I can’t always change or choose my circumstances, but I can choose my attitude and perspective towards it.These are things that I can control and that really makes all the difference between how I handle my circumstances. Something that helps me when days are bad or they seem to drag on is that this really isn’t my life. Nope, this is Christ’s life I am giving to him now.  It’s such a short time, maybe 40 more years for me and then I get my real life hid in Him. That helps me get through tough times when I realize that I am “just a passing through and this world in not my home.”

Bad days

Bad days to me are also like the crucible that burns away my imperfect sinful life so Christ can shine out more clearly.  So, painfully at times I face them and whisper a “thank you” because somehow beyond my sight something is happening somewhere to the glory of God. Unfortunately, in America we wrestle with materialism and having so much. It’s easy to take the blessings, the good days, for granted.  In those days, I pray that I will not cease to see all the tiny things the Lord is doing and thank Him for it. I pray that whatever He has given me in my life help it to first glorify Him and second be used to bring others to Him.

97458789-quotes-to-cheer-you-up-on-bad-days

Nothing else really lasts so why spend another day striving for it, believer?  Each day is precious so instead of bemoaning your loss look at what you’ve gained.

bad-day-11

 

 

 

 

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Adaptation, Christian character, encouragement, Everyday issues, Faith, Hang in there, Hard days, Relationship with God, sweetness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

