Who I Call Friend

 

“But I have called you friends…”

 John 15:15 

 

This short poem was written years ago after I learned that friendships come in all shapes and sizes. I had often seen friendships come and go and it wore on my heart. However, something my mom said stuck with me that day. She said, “If you have one true friend in your lifetime you have more than most people.”

So true.

 

Good-Friend

There are Sunday friends,

Neverending friends,

Some saved for “one day’s “ page;

Others last a twinkling of an eye.

There are friendships  that live

Until you die.

Rare and great are those you find,

Who call you friend until the end.

My friend

One sticks closer than a brother;
Crisis reveals one from the shadows.

Friends for a season;

Tastes bitter, adds sweetening;

Binds the wounds,

One step in my healing.

Best friend
A confidant that keeps pace beside;
When you fall stands you tall.

The length of a weekend,

A sentence, a song;

Different times,

Various reasons,
But still they bear the same name.

Friends
A conversation on a journey long,

Tough and tender, weak and strong;
A companion, a comfort
A smile all the while,

A friend.

captain-america-civil-war-is-actually-about-the-winter-soldier-s-redemption

About gpavants

I am a writer and a teacher. I feel my platform is to encourage people to live a life of faith.
This entry was posted in Being a brother, Being a sister, brotherhood, Character in Crisis, christ, Christian character, companionship, courage, End Times, endurance, family, fellowship, friendhip, friendship, God's Love, Hard days, helping the lonely, Jesus, mentors, Relationship with God, relationships, Sisterhood, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who I Call Friend

  1. I agree with your mom, Gary. I’ve come to realise that ‘friendship’ means very different things to different people, but this sums up a true friend to me: “Rare and great are those you find,Who call you friend until the end”. I wish all of us had a friend like this.

    • gpavants says:

      One thing I try to do is be that kind of friend even if it doesn’t come together the way I hoped it would. We can show the love of Christ by treating others the way we want to be treated.

  2. Hmmm. This is very real and True…
    The mystery of Friendship…wow

Leave a Reply

